• Tile Award 2017
  • about-ceramic-tiles-2015
  • about-ceramic-tiles-2015
  • portrait_web_jury_450_291
  • Unbenannt-2
  • Unbenannt-2_ice
  • Gruppe


International Newcomer Award for architects and interior designers under the age of 38

The award winners of the second phase of the International Newcomer Competition 2017 TILE AWARD have been determined

In the second jury session, which took place on January 19th, 2018 at the AIT-ArchitekturSalon Hamburg, the jury members Brendan MacFarlane (Jakob + MacFarlane, FR-Paris), Johan Oscarson (Elding Oscarson, SE-Stockholm), Michael Stoz (Partner AG, DE-Offenburg) and Christian Waldner (AllesWirdGut Architektur ZT GmbH, AT-Wien/DE-München) have selected the most expressive and convincing designs as winners of the fourth TILE AWARD.


Award winners

Avishkar Bharati, JDAP Design – Architecture – Planning, IN-Mumbai with the project  “Transmittance-Colour curtain”

Andreas Crynen, Ingenhoven Architects, DE-Mönchengladbach with the project  “RE:TILE”

Agnes Morguet, Agnes Morguet Innenarchitektur & Design, DE-Köln with the project  “Stay Unique”



The designs of the three winners will be implemented as a mock-up on a scale of 1:1 and documented in a professional photo shooting.

The TILE AWARD 2017 recorded a total of 63 submitted projects from 20 countries.The competition set the task to design an interior by using tiles in an innovative and creative way and thus point out the various possibilities the material has to offer. In a first round, the jury selected nine spectacular interpretations of the theme. These concepts have been further elaborated during a workshop at Iceland in September 2017 and worked out in great detail for a possible implementation. Experts from AGROB BUCHTAL were available on site to give help and advice.


For more information and registration please contact tile-award@ait-online.de

Workshop at Iceland, September 2017

The nine winners of the first phase of the TILE AWARD 2017 were invited to a workshop trip at Iceland, to further elaborate their submitted concepts. Together with experts from AGROB BUCHTAL, Joao Araujo Sousa (PT-Porto), Avishkar Bharati (IN- Mumbai), Malwina Borowiec (PL- Warsaw), Andreas Crynen (DE- Düsseldorf), Joa Herrenknecht (DE- Berlin), Agata Kycia (DE- Berlin), Agnes Morguet (DE- Cologne), Prajapati Piyush (AE- Dubai) and Olga Solomatina (RU- Moscow) worked out their projects in great detail for a possible implementation.

Jury 2017

We are glad to present this years jury members of 2017 TILE AWARD, left to right:
Brendan MacFarlane | Jakob + MacFarlane, FR-Paris,  Johan Oscarson | Elding Oscarson, SE-Stockholm, Michael Stoz | Partner AG, DE-Offenburg, Boštjan Vuga | SADAR+VUGA d.o.o., SI-Ljubljana and Christian Waldner | AllesWirdGut Architektur ZT GmbH, AT-Vienna/DE-Munich.
Jury 2017